A girls way into the world of sound engineering…

Hi everyone!

I posted this presentation of myself on the about me page and thought it would make a good first blog post as well.

I’m a Finnish-Swedish girl with a passion for music who has decided to
learn all I can about sound engineering. I play the fiddle in a celtic
folk rock band and have a folk music duo with my boyfriend as well,
who happens to be a sound engineer and is fittingly going to be
guiding me into this world of cables, knobs and sound.
We met when he asked to join the celtic folk band I had started
together with some friends. Since then we have traveled a bit around
the country (Finland), performing in pubs and on festivals. We
recorded an album in my boyfriend’s studio, more exactly a rebuilt
barn. No cows were involved in the making of the cd, just in case you
are wondering.

It has all been very fun and through the years I’ve developed a desire
to learn more about mixing and recording sound. I’ve decided that I’m
going to learn as much as I can, live and in studio. There is only a tiny little obstacle,
which is my chronic auto-immune disease that is affecting my lungs and
has caused me a lot of trouble and several lung surgeries in the past
four years. I can’t lift heavy t things and work long hours without
causing my lungs to bleed, but that is not going to stop me. I just
have to plan my life a little more thoroughly than other people and
ask for help when I need it.
I used to study to become a nurse, but the teachers didn’t seem to
want to support me much. I was deeply disappointed, but I also see it
as my chance to do something entirely different with my life. This
time without any old mean teachers to stop me. I am excited and
motivated again and I can’t tell you how good that feels!

It also seems that there are not a whole lot of women in this area. I
read that only 5 % of the sound engineers are women. Why is this? I
have also discovered that I’m not the only person in this world
wondering about that. With this blog I hope to inspire more women to
try out this path.  I also hope to inspire myself to learn more every
day. This is only the beginning. I would be happy to get in touch with
all the female sound engineers and all the girls out there who aspires
to become sound engineers, anyone at all who wishes to support me 🙂
in my quest.
I belong to a Swedish speaking minority in Finland. I decided to blog
in English so as many of you as possible can understand. At the same
time it is a good way to keep up and practice my English.

Comment